Joining in

Getting in touch

Every diocese has its own procedure for exploring your calling and for training. All dioceses have someone who ‘looks after’ its Readers (LLMs), who may be called the Warden of Readers, or Readers (LLMs), or Lay Ministry. You can use the map below to have a contact for this person, who may well then pass you on to someone else for an initial conversation.

Contact a local Warden

Clicking on an area of the map will display the warden of that diocese and will display their name and email address.

Bangor

Assistant Director of Discipleship & Vocations
The Revd Deacon Pam Odam
pamodam@churchinwales.org.uk

Bath & Wells

Warden – The Ven Simon Hill
adtaunton@bathwells.anglican.org

Birmingham

Warden of Readers – Revd Canon Catherine Grylls
Readers@cofebirmingham.com

Blackburn

Warden of Lay Ministry – Ruth Haldane
Ruth.haldane@blackburn.anglican.org

Bristol

Dr Stephanie Hayton
stephanie.hayton@bristoldiocese.org

 

Canterbury

Warden of Readers – Nigel Collins
ncollins@diocant.org

Carlisle

Warden – Prof Annie Garden
warden.readers@carlislediocese.org.uk

Chelmsford

Warden – The Rt Revd John Perumbulath
b.bradwell@chelmsford.anglican.org

Chester

Warden of Readers & Pastoral Workers – The Revd Vivien Gisby
vivien.gisby@chester.anglican.org

Chichester

Warden of Lay Ministers – Dr Peter Mansell
Peter.Mansell@chichester.anglican.org

Coventry

Warden – Jo King
jo.king@covcofe.org

Assistant Warden – Lorraine Baker
Lorraine.baker@covcofe.org

Derby

Jo Henderson-Merrygold
jo.henderson-merrygold@derby.anglican.org

Durham

Warden – The Ven. Libby Wilkinson
Archdeacon.of.Durham@durham.anglican.org

Ely

Warden of Readers – Steve Mashford
wardenofreaders@elydiocese.org

Europe

Warden of Readers – The Rt Revd David Hamid
David.hamid@churchofengland.org

Exeter

Warden of Readers – The Ven Andrew Beane
archdeacon.of.exeter@exeter.anglican.org

Gloucester

Revd Lee Barnes
lbarnes@glosdioc.org.uk

Guildford

Warden of Lay Ministers – Mrs Jane Hiley
Wardenofllms@cofeguildford.org.uk

Hereford

Warden – Dr. Rev. Elizabeth Wild
Elizabeth.Wild@hereford.anglican.org

Leeds

Warden – The Ven. Bill Braviner​
archdeacon.halifax@leeds.anglican.org

Leicester

Acting Warden of Readers – Andy Smith​
andy@changesmith.solutions

Lichfield

Archdeacon of Salop – The Ven Paul Thomas
paul.thomas@lichfield.anglican.org

Lincoln

Warden of Lay Ministry – Dr Sally Buck
sally.buck@lincoln.anglican.org

Liverpool

Bishop’s Officer for Readers – Bruce Pennie
bruce.pennie@liverpool.anglican.org

Llandaff

Warden of Readers – Colin Finney
colinwfinney@outlook.com

London

Diocesan Lead for Lay Ministry –
Revd Irena Edgcumbe
Irena.Edgcumbe@london.anglican.org

Manchester

Warden of Readers – The Rt Revd Mark Ashcroft
bishopofbolton@manchester.anglican.org

Monmouth

Chaplain of LLMs – The Ven. Ian Rees
ianrees@churchinwales.org.uk

Newcastle

Warden – The Rt Revd Stephen Platten
Stephen.platten@icloud.com

Norwich

Warden – Rev. Canon Linda Church​
linda.church@dioceseofnorwich.org

Oxford

Warden of Readers – The Revd Dr Phillip Tovey
phillip.tovey@oxford.anglican.org

Peterborough

WLM Oakham Archdeaconry: The Revd Canon John Hall
fr.john@nenecrossings.org.uk

WLM Northampton Archdeaconry: The Revd Ben Lewis
frbenstmarks@gmail.com

Deputy Warden – Readers – Vyv Wainwright
vyv@avwainwright.co.uk

Portsmouth

Acting Warden – Anthony Rustell
Anthony.rustell@portsmouth.anglican.org

Rochester

Warden of Lay Ministry – Karen Senior
karen.senior@rochester.anglican.org

Salisbury & Chanel Islands

Warden – The Rt Revd Karen Gorham
bishop.sherborne@salisbury.anglican.org

Sheffield

Warden of Readers – Toby Hole
toby.hole@gmail.com

Sodor & Man

Warden of Readers – Dr Graham McAll
secretary@sodorandman.im

Southwark

Warden of Readers – Ray Wheeler
raymond.wheeler@southwark.anglican.org

Southwell & Nottingham

Warden – Sue Waterston
sue.waterston@southwell.anglican.org

St. Albans

Warden – The Rt Revd Michael Beasley
bishophertford@stalbans.anglican.org

St. Asaph

LLM Officer – Revd Huw Butler
vicarofllay@gmail.com

St. Davids

Warden – Ruth Evans
ruthevans@churchinwales.org.uk

St. Edmundsbury & Ipswich

Warden of Readers – Rt Rev Michael Harrison
bishop.mike@cofesuffolk.org

Swansea & Brecon

Warden – Rev Justin Davies
Justindavies26@gmail.com

Truro

Warden of Readers – The Rt Revd Hugh Nelson
Hugh.nelson@truro.anglican.org

Winchester

Joint Warden of Readers (Bishop of Southampton):
Rt Revd Deborah Sellin
bishop.debbie@winchester.anglican.org

Joint Warden of Readers (Bishop of Basingstoke):
Rt Revd David Williams
bishop.david@winchester.anglican.org

 

Worcester

Co-Warden of Readers (Dudley)  Kath Davies
kath.davis@btinternet.com

Co-Warden of Readers (Worcester) – Revd Rob Farmer
revdrobfarmer@gmail.com

York

Warden of Readers – Ven Dr Amanda Bloor
adcl@yorkdiocese.org