Joining in

Getting in touch

Every diocese has its own procedure for exploring your calling and for training. All dioceses have someone who ‘looks after’ its Readers (LLMs), who may be called the Warden of Readers, or Readers (LLMs), or Lay Ministry. You can use the map below to have a contact for this person, who may well then pass you on to someone else for an initial conversation.

Contact a local Warden

Clicking on an area of the map will display the warden of that diocese and will display their name and email address.

Bangor

Assistant Director of Discipleship & Vocations
The Revd Deacon Pam Odam
pamodam@churchinwales.org.uk

Bath & Wells

Warden – The Ven Simon Hill
adtaunton@bathwells.anglican.org

Birmingham

Warden of Readers – Revd Canon Catherine Grylls
Readers@cofebirmingham.com

Blackburn

Warden of Lay Ministry – Ruth Haldane
Ruth.haldane@blackburn.anglican.org

Bristol

Director of Ministry Development (Until Easter) – The Revd Simon Taylor
simon.taylor@bristoldiocese.org

Advisor for Lay Ministry – (From 19th April) – Dr Stephanie Hayton
Stephanie.Hayton@bristoldiocese.org

Canterbury

Warden of Readers – Nigel Collins
ncollins@diocant.org

Carlisle

Warden – Prof Annie Garden
warden.readers@carlislediocese.org.uk

Chelmsford

Warden – The Rt Revd John Perumbulath
b.bradwell@chelmsford.anglican.org

Chester

Warden of Readers & Pastoral Workers – The Revd Vivien Gisby
vivien.gisby@chester.anglican.org

Chichester

Warden of Lay Ministers – Dr Peter Mansell
Peter.Mansell@chichester.anglican.org

Coventry

Warden – Jo King
jo.king@covcofe.org

Assistant Warden – Lorraine Baker
Lorraine.baker@covcofe.org

Derby

Interim Warden – Christine McMullen
christine.mcmullen@hotmail.co.uk

Durham

Warden – Revd Dr Alastair Prince
alastair.prince@durham.anglican.org

Ely

Warden of Readers – Steve Mashford
wardenofreaders@elydiocese.org

Europe

Warden of Readers – The Rt Revd David Hamid
David.hamid@churchofengland.org

Exeter

Warden of Readers – The Ven Andrew Beane
archdeacon.of.exeter@exeter.anglican.org

Gloucester

Warden of Readers – Dr Andrew Braddock
Dr Andrew Braddock – Abraddock@glosdioc.org.uk

Guildford

Warden of Lay Ministers – Mrs Jane Hiley
Wardenofllms@cofeguildford.org.uk

Hereford

Warden of Readers – Revd Preb. Dr John Daniels (until April)
j.daniels@hereford.anglican.org

Leeds

Warden – The Ven Jonathan Gough
jonathan.gough@leeds.anglican.org

Leicester

Warden of Readers – Andy Smith
andy.smith@LeicesterCofE.org

Lichfield

Archdeacon of Salop – The Ven Paul Thomas
paul.thomas@lichfield.anglican.org

Lincoln

Warden of Lay Ministry – Dr Sally Buck
sally.buck@lincoln.anglican.org

Liverpool

Bishop’s Officer for Readers – Bruce Pennie
bruce.pennie@liverpool.anglican.org

Llandaff

Warden of Readers – Colin Finney
colinwfinney@outlook.com

London

Warden of Licensed Lay Ministers – The Revd Preb Dr Neil Evans
neil.evans@london.anglican.org

Manchester

Warden of Readers – The Rt Revd Mark Ashcroft
bishopofbolton@manchester.anglican.org

Monmouth

Chaplain of LLMs – Revd John A Collier
collierjohn1@aol.com

Newcastle

Warden – The Rt Revd Stephen Platten
Stephen.platten@icloud.com

Norwich

Warden – The Ven Karen Hutchinson
archdeacon.norwich@dioceseofnorwich.org

Oxford

Warden of Readers – The Revd Dr Phillip Tovey
phillip.tovey@oxford.anglican.org

Peterborough

WLM Oakham Archdeaconry: The Revd Canon John Hall
fr.john@nenecrossings.org.uk

WLM Northampton Archdeaconry: The Revd Ben Lewis
frbenstmarks@gmail.com

Deputy Warden – Readers – Vyv Wainwright
vyv@avwainwright.co.uk

Portsmouth

Acting Warden – Anthony Rustell
Anthony.rustell@portsmouth.anglican.org

Rochester

Warden of Lay Ministry – Karen Senior
karen.senior@rochester.anglican.org

Salisbury & Chanel Islands

Warden – The Rt Revd Karen Gorham
bishop.sherborne@salisbury.anglican.org

Sheffield

Warden of Readers – Imogen Clout
imogen.clout@btinternet.com

Sodor & Man

Warden of Readers – Dr Graham McAll
secretary@sodorandman.im

Southwark

Warden of Readers – Ray Wheeler
raymond.wheeler@southwark.anglican.org

Southwell & Nottingham

Warden – Sue Waterston
sue.waterston@southwell.anglican.org

St. Albans

Warden – The Rt Revd Michael Beasley
bishophertford@stalbans.anglican.org

St. Asaph

LLM Officer – Revd Huw Butler
vicarofllay@gmail.com

St. Davids

Warden – Ruth Evans
ruthevans@churchinwales.org.uk

St. Edmundsbury & Ipswich

Warden of Readers – Rt Rev Michael Harrison
bishop.mike@cofesuffolk.org

Swansea & Brecon

Warden – Rev Justin Davies
Justindavies26@gmail.com

Truro

Warden of Readers – The Rt Revd Hugh Nelson
Hugh.nelson@truro.anglican.org

Winchester

Warden Archdeaconry of Bournemouth: Rt Revd Deborah Sellin
bishop.debbie@winchester.anglican.org

Warden Archdeaconry of Winchester – Rt Revd David Williams
Bishop.david@winchester.anglican.org

Worcester

Warden – Revd Canon Sue Oliver
WReaders@cofe-worcester.org.uk

York

Warden of Readers – Ven Dr Amanda Bloor
adcl@yorkdiocese.org